Southern California Edison Launches a Comprehensive Manufactured and Mobile Home Program


Southern California Edison is launching a new FREE service for mobile home owners. It includes a free energy evaluation, energy efficient products and professional installation of these products at no cost to you.

How the Program Works:

A specialist will come to your home and do a free evaluation, assessing your eligibility. If you qualify they will set an appointment for a return visit and will install *energy efficient measures that will make your home more energy efficient and will save you money on your monthly bill.

*Energy Efficient Measures:

Central Air Conditioner Tune-up,Testing and Sealing Air Ducts, Air Conditioner Brushless Motor Retrofit, Compact Fluorescent Light Bulbs, Compact Fluorescent Light Fixtures

For More information on this program visit Southern California’s Website at

The Advantages of Manufactured Housing

Manufactured housing communities have a lot to offer.

Is it true that they are cost-effective? Yes. Depending on where you live the cost per square foot for a new manufactured home is 10- 30% LESS that a comparable site built home.

These homes are inspected every step of the way, from the first wall that is assembled in the factory to the placement of the home within the residents chosen park. They have all the amenities availed that site built homes have, including granite counter tops, crystal chandeliers and even bay windows.

Another advantage is the owner’s ability to place the home wherever they choose. It may be in a park in the mountains or just miles from the beach. The location that is chosen for the home does not affect the cost of the home itself, although rent for the space the home sits on will differ from park to park.  If in a few years you decide to move from the desert to the ocean you can take your home with you!

Manufactured homes and their communities are a wonderful choice when looking for housing.

Mobile Home Resident FAQ’s


Q: Does State Law Regulate Rent Increases in Mobile Home Parks?

  1. No, state law does not regulate the amount of a rent increase in a mobile home park. However, MRL states that a park must give residents a 90-day advanced written notice of an increase.

Q: Can the park charge “maintenance” or “pass-through” fees in addition to the rent?

  1. Yes IF the residents lease or rental agreement provides for assessments or fees for maintenance, among other services. If not mentioned in the lease the new fee would have to be for “services rendered” aka Trash Pickup, in which case a 60-day advance written notice is required.

Q: Can the park charge residents for back-rent that was miscalculated because of the manager’s mistake?

  1. READ YOUR LEASE CAREFULLY! The answer to this question depends on what your lease says. If you have a long-term lease that stipulates the monthly rent for the term of the lease and there is no provision in the lease for a contingency, such as an increase due to management error, then NO back-rent cannot be charged. IF however your lease agreement has a contingency clause that states that back rent may be charged then YES they can collect the additional rent with a 90-day written notice.

Q: Can the resident refuse to pay the rent or deduct a certain amount from the rent if water in the park is cut off?

  1. NO. Instead the resident should file an emergency complaint with the Department of Housing (HCD) or a local enforcement agency.

Q: Can the park evict a resident for the payment of late rent even though their rental history shows they eventually pay the full rent?

  1. Yes. The resident has 5 days from the due date to pay the rent in full. After the 5 days the park must give the resident a 3-day notice to pay or risk eviction in 60-days. If the resident pays within the 3 days then the 60-day eviction is waived. The resident may only pay late (within the 3-days once notified after the first 5 days) three times in a 12-month period. After the third time the park can issue a 60-day eviction notice.

Q: Is management allowed to restrict parking and have residents’ cars towed?

  1. Residents or guests may be towed with out notice if: they are parked in fire lanes, in front of park entrances, or fire hydrants, if they are parked in another residents assigned space or if the vehicle presents a significant danger to the health and safety of residents. In all other cases a 7-day notice is required to tow the vehicle.

Click Here for a full list of Resident FAQ’s.

New Taxes. Beginning January 1, 2013 there will be several tax increases to Fund Health Care that you should be aware of.

The government will begin collecting billions of dollars from tax increases beginning January 1, 2013. They include, but are not limited to: an increase in the payroll tax on wages, a tax on investment income and a new tax on medical devices.

The statewide sales and use tax will increase .25% and will apply for four years.

Payroll taxes will increase .9% for an individual who earns over $200,000 a year and for couples who earn over $250,000.  People who fall into this category will also be facing an additional Tax of 3.8% on investment income.