California Drought Hits 4 Year Mark with No Relief in Sight

On April 1, 2015 the governor issued an Executive Order to guide California during this record long 4-year drought. This order included a 25% reduction in potable water usage, an initiative to help replace 50 million square feet of lawns with drought tolerant plans and a statewide appliance rebate program.

Many Californians are asking themselves “How can I reduce my water usage by 25%?” For those who have already replaced their high flow toilets with low flow energy efficient toilets as well as replacing other appliances it may seem like an impossible feat, but it is not.

Check your faucets for leaks, replace your lawn with drought tolerant plants (Click Here for information on the rebate program that could allow you to do this free of cost), Cut down your shower time or limit the number of showers you take a week, don’t leave faucets running waiting for the water to heat up (or collect this water to use for other household purposes), water your indoor plants sparingly and use the left over water from rinsing your dishes (or the shower water), you can even set-up a rain bucket outside to collect rain to use for indoor watering. Every little step you take will help conserve California’s water.

Have you taken all of these steps but not seen a reduction in your water usage? You may have a leak! Here are a few steps to take to see if there is a leak in your home.

Your water meter can help you determine whether your water-using fixtures or inside plumbing have inconspicuous leaks. It’s the best place to begin your search.

  • Turn off all faucets and water-consuming appliances, including evaporative coolers and icemakers in refrigerators.
  • Check the meter register for any movement of the numbers or the low-flow indicator and note the time.
  • Check the meter register again after 15-30 minutes. Any movement indicates a leak.
  • Turn off your house valve (all indoor and outdoor water). Check the meter register for any movement as described above.Any movement indicates a leak between the water meter and your home. If you suspect you have a leak, be sure to contact a plumber. And if you don’t, remember to check for leaks periodically.

Help California save water and protect yourself from potential usage fines!

Security Deposits for Mobile Homes

Security Deposits are required for almost every type of rental in the state, even if you are only renting the land your home sits on. There are rules that govern Mobile Home Security Deposits in California.

  1. A security deposit may only be demanded on or before initial occupancy.
  2. The security deposit cannot exceed an amount equal to two months rent, in addition to any rent for the first month.
    1. EX: If your space rent is $800 your security deposit cannot be greater than $1,600. At the time of move in you can be required to pay the deposit $1,600 plus the first months rent $800. Your total move in cost would equal $2,400
  3. For deposits collected after January 1, 1989- if the home owner has promptly paid in full all of the rent, utilities and reasonable services charges for 12 consecutive months OR upon resale of the home, whichever comes first the home owner may submit a written request for a refund of the deposit. Management has 30 days after the written request to return the deposit.
  4. Management is NOT required to place the security deposit in an interest-account NOR is management required to provide a homeowner with any interest on the security deposit collected.